For two voices and piano
Period of composition: 9 - 18 Nov 1936
First performance: 15 Dec 1936 >>
Type of performance: Concert performance
Location: Wigmore Hall, London
Performance details:

Sophie Wyss sop, Betty Bannerman sop, Adolph Hallis pf

Genre: Vocal


These duets were intended for performance by the Swiss-born sisters, Sophie and Colette Wyss, but Colette withdrew from the first performance because she was anxious about singing an English text.


  • 1 Mother Comfort (Montagu Slater, 1902-1956) >>
    duration: 2
  • 2 Underneath the abject willow (W.H. Auden, 1907-1973) >>
    duration: 3

    The text is from Auden's collection Look, stranger! and was dedicated to Britten. The composer made a separate (though musically related) setting of it for high voice and piano, probably in 1941. See Underneath the abject willow (1941).