For viola, violin and orchestra
Subtitle: For viola, violin and orchestra
Other titles: Double concerto

Published title (1997)

Period of composition: 9 Mar - 1 Jul 1932
First performance: 15 Jun 1997 >>
Type of performance: Concert performance
Location: Snape Maltings Concert Hall, Aldeburgh Festival.
Performance details:

Katherine Hunka vn, Philip Dukes va, Britten-Pears Orchestra, Kent Nagano cond.

Genre: Orchestral
Performing forces:

Orchestra: 2 fl (II=picc), 2 ob, 2 cl in A and B flat, 2 bn - 2 hn, 2 tpt in B flat - timp, perc (susp cymb) - str

Duration: 25'


The title of this work is written on the composition draft score and was renamed 'Double concerto' by Colin Matthews when it was prepared for performance in 1997. It was published by OUP in 2002. Britten expressed dissatisfaction with the piece in his diaries (entries from May 1932) although he did revise the slow movement in July 1932.